Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Switch Jobs Or Not

Old 05-23-2009 | 03:23 PM

Vehicle: 97 Tiburon

Okay i've been dealing with this dilemma for a couple weeks now and I need to make a decision.

I've been working with Sears Auto Center for the past 7 years. I started as a technician and now I'm in sales. The job is commission based so the paychecks can vary quite a bit each pay cycle. For about the past year, they've been tryin to get me into an Assistant Manager position. The two places I interviewed for, they both went with people who had more tenure (one was 30 years, the other was 12) with the company.

I've since become frustrated and applied for and was offered a job at a small tire place in my town not far from my apartment. The pay is hourly ($13/hour), 50 hours a week.

Well, the quandary is that an Assistant Manager position has opened again and I'm the only internal applicant, all the others are from the outside. They much prefer hiring from within, so my chances of getting the position are very good.

Pros of staying with Sears include:
    [*]salary ($34000 - $35000) + commission + bonuses (if i were to get the promotion)[*]resume builder - one of the 5 largest volume Auto Centers in the country[/list]Pros of switching jobs:
      [*]closer to home[*]overtime[*]set schedule (out at 5:30 mon-fri, sat out at noon, sun off)[/list]Cons of staying with Sears:
        [*]not gaurenteed to get promotion[*]new location (if got promotion) would be an hour commute each way[/list]Cons of switching jobs: