Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Hockey Questions

Old 10-26-2005 | 08:28 PM

Vehicle: 2012 Mustang GT

wazzup people. i know there are a lot of hockey people on this website. here's my story: as a kid, my parents couldnt afford to let me play hockey. it was just too expensive. well, i'm 25 now and making a decent amount of money. i've bought a variety of things i never had as a child. including full hockey gear. =D
here's my problem...i've been playing for about two months, but i hit a roadblock. i'm not very good, but i'm playing well enough to piss off the local college guys here (uaf nanook's?). i'm trying to get better, but i have no clue what positions do which. for instance, what does a forward do and what's his job? i've been looking around on the internet, but i cant find any real good information source. and i don't know what drills to do, what to practice, and pretty much the whole game of hockey.
the last two months, i've spent trying to get my skating down, skating backward, and trying to handle the puck without falling.
any tips? advice? books? videos?

i've really grown to love playing. i look forward to each mon-wed-fri like a kid looking in at a candy store. the guys i play with (pick-up games at the local rink) are good sports about me being such a noobie, but i could tell that some resent having such a novice on the ice with them. not that i care. nana.gif
but because i'm so competitive, i need to get better. i almost wish that i could hire a coach. lol

anyway, sorry for the long post. any help would be appreciated. =D
Old 10-26-2005 | 08:37 PM

Vehicle: 1999 Hyundai Tiburon SE

Hockey is totaly awesome! I'm so pumped that the NHL is Finally back. Now, i never played hockey as a kid either, but I did play a bit on my college's team. So I was able to get a bit of coaching and that helped a lot!