Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Facing A Huge Turning Point In My Life. Need Help Making A Decision.

Old 10-16-2005, 02:35 AM
Administrator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vehicle: ǝdnoɔ sısǝuǝƃ

I work at a fairly large, yet new, printing press in Nashville. I'm currently a pressman's helper making fair pay. I work 10-hour shifts, M-Th. with the usual Friday for overtime. Sometimes we work 12-hour shifts M-F (60hr weeks).

At the same time, I'm taking 15 hours at Trevecca Nazarene University. I have classes everyday from 9(:30) til 2(:30) depending on the day. I work from 3:45pm-1(3):45am depending on the 10 or 12hr shifts.

Obviously, if you can do simple math, I don't get much sleep. Nor much time for studying. School is slightly suffering (not doing as good as usual) and sometimes the lack of sleep catches up with me.

Here's my dilemma:
I am majoring in both Accounting and Information Technology.
I am a senior, but still have 2 more semesters after the current before I can graduate. I transferred from UTK and therefore have to make up some classes.

The Offer:
I am reasonably assured (90%) that I will be offered a promotion within the the next month. This promotion will come with a request that I quit school after this semester. I will have to work flexible hours (though most likely within the same time frame I am working now) and probably more 12hour shifts than I currently work. Management helps me out and doesn't require me to work 12's often b/c of school, but they wouldn't be able to keep me from working 12's if I take the promotion.