Off Topic Cafe If it doesn't belong in any of the other forums. Post all Off Topic stuff here.

Best Laptops?

Old 05-05-2008 | 09:03 PM

Alright guys, I'm gonna need a new laptop soon. I have a Dell Latitude that was plagued with problems from the get go, and it just gave me the blue screen of death. I'm sick of trying to fix it and get it working properly, so I wanna start off with a clean slate for when I go back to school.

I'm no computer expert at all, just know some basic things about them. This Dell was my first laptop, so I'm a little apprehensive about purchasing a second one, especially since it's such a big purchase.

What I usually use it for is browsing the internet (needs to have a good wireless card), typing on word, stuff like that. No gaming at all. Some video playing and DVD watching, some CD burning. I will need to use AutoCAD and probably photoshop and similar programs for school. I dont want to be running CAD and have it slow down the computer to a crawl. I don't need a top of the line machine though, just something that's reliable and quick, and won't break if I tap it too hard.

I'm a little apprehensive about buying a laptop on ebay. Would prefer to buy it new but can't really afford anything that expensive. Maybe $600-$700 at most. Anyone have anything for sale? Or, what would you guys recommend based on your experience?
Old 05-05-2008 | 09:04 PM
DTN

Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

E-bay. you can buy a laptop for $200, then when it gives up it's ghost, buy another for $200.
Old 05-05-2008 | 09:06 PM

yeah I bought a dell on ebay for $200ish once, it was an old POS that didn't do much at all.
Old 05-05-2008 | 09:09 PM
Administrator

Vehicle: ǝdnoɔ sısǝuǝƃ

http://www.dell.com/content/products/categ...&lid=543237

You want something cheap? Get a Dell. You want something good? Get a Mac.