Hyundai Tiburon Forum The Hyundai Tiburon Forum. Get all the questions you have about the RD, GK, and FL Tiburon answered here. Find out why the Hyundai Tiburon is Korea's most popular tuning platform.

Connecting Multiple Power/ground Lines

Old 02-27-2008, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

how do you guys deal with connecting power/ground lines that branch off? For example, you have one 12V line which you tapped, now you need to further tap that 12V line to supply power to, let's say, 5 other accessories. How would you connect all of those 5 power wires? I have some ideas, but I have no experience with this, so I wanna know how it's actually done. I was thinking that you could solder them all (which I wouldn't do), or you could connect them to all of the accessories in a series fashion (ie. one 12V wire connects to one accessory, and you take it from that accessory to the next accessory, and so on), but I think that increases resistance and lowers current. Maybe a connection block? I'm not sure.

So how would you guys do this?
Old 02-27-2008, 07:58 PM

Vehicle: 2000 Tiburon

For that many connections you should look into doing a whole new line from your battery into a distribution block with an appropiate fuse inline.
Old 02-27-2008, 07:59 PM
DTN

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Vehicle: 2001 Hyundai Tiburon

http://search.ebay.com/power-distribution-...QQfsopZ3QQgbrZ1
Old 02-27-2008, 10:40 PM

it's for an alarm/remote starter. I tapped a 12V constant line from my ignition harness, but I need to add 4 SPDT relays for dome light, parking lights flash, ..., and each 85 connector of all of those relays requires 12V. Right now I've got my entire alarm/RS to work, but it's all mock fitted (no connections have been soldered/crimped yet). So you would use a distribution block in this case or might connecting the 12V in series to all 4 relays be ok to do?
Old 02-28-2008, 02:54 AM

Vehicle: 2006 Pontiac GTO