Engine, Intake, Exhaust Modifications to your Normally Aspirated Hyundai engine. Cold Air Intakes, Spark Plugs/wires, Cat back Exhaust...etc.

Performance Question

Old 08-16-2005 | 12:34 AM

Hi guys! Got a 2000 Tibby, 5spd, 2.0L with only 2 mods, CAI and a performance module. When Im at an idle like at a red light, then give it some gas (with or without the ac on) I sometimes get a "delayed reaction" in the time from when I punch it to the time when the car decides to go. Any way I can get rid of this? Im a newbie to the performance/racing thing so take it easy on me if you can. Ive had this problem since I bought the car, as Im sure all cars do. Thought maybe by adding some small inexpensive mods, that it would get a little better, but it didnt. Any advice would be awesome. Ive seen alot of it in the forums Ive read here so I hope you all can help me too. Thanks a million!

DaytonaTibby
Old 08-16-2005 | 12:43 AM

Vehicle: 97 Tib

First of all, those performance modules are nothing but a scam which will harm your engine. Get rid of it. I will not go into details about this, if you want to learn exactly all about what these do and why I'm telling you this, use the SEARCH button on this site and search some threads containing performance chips.

Next, welcome to the site (I must have missed your intro), glad you chose a tib and you'll find lots of friendly people on this site who will answer ANY questions, but please SEARCH first and read the rules fing02.gif

Finally, the answer to your question I am 95% sure it is a spark plug misfiring. I would replace them asap, or if you have the cash, buy a set of NGK Iridium IX spark plugs (you need 4 plugs BTW), and also get a set of NGK High-Performance Spark Plug Wires. This will probably cure your problem forever if you go with the NGKs. try www.clubplug.net, or search eBay.
Old 08-16-2005 | 12:53 AM